Crick Primary School

Early Years Foundation Stage

This stage occurs before the National Curriculum and provides a framework for your child’s learning in our Reception class.  At Crick Primary School we are following the EYFS reforms early adopter framework ( 

The Early Years Curriculum

There are 7 areas of learning and these are split into two parts-

The Prime Areas-Prime areas are fundamental, work together and move through to support development in all other areas.
Personal, Social and Emotional Development, Communication and Language and Physical Development

The Specific Areas-Specific areas include essential skills and knowledge for children to participate in society. 
Literacy, Mathematics, Understanding the World and Expressive Arts and Design

These areas are assessed at the end of the year against the Early Learning Goals. Please click on the link below to see these;


Please click on the links below to find out more about each area of learning and development.



Personal, Social & Emotional Development


Communication & Language Physical Development 
Literacy Mathematics  Understanding the World Expressive Arts & Design

If you want to find out more about the EYFS or the areas of learning and development, all the documents we use can be found

on the website linked below, which also has parent pages and contains lots of useful information about the EYFS-

If you have any questions about any part of the EYFS, please do not hesitate to ask!